fashion

dead fleurette

wardrobe planning

 

Fashion blogs are big nowadays. Fashion bloggers may even be bigger. They get invited to sit first row at fashion shows, get free clothes to promote on their blogs and more and more of them are even able to make a living of blogging.

I must admit I like browsing through a few fashion blogs myself. But the thing that bothers me is that most bloggers are totally focused on consuming. They give us their weekly wishlist, show us all the things they’ve bought and constantly talk about craving and needing clothes. A much needed exception to this recipe of fashion blogging is presented by Dead Fleurette. Whereas most bloggers want their readers’ affirmation that their newly bought looks are as cool as they are, Dead Fleurette talks about minimizing her closet. With categories like ‘less is more’, ‘de-cluttering’, ‘care and maintenance’ and ‘wardrobe planning’ this blog feels like a breath of fresh air. Dead Fleurette does show us outfit shots like most fashion bloggers do, but she’s wearing the same pair of shoes and jacket on all of them. And the best thing is: she looks great doing it.

Let’s be honest: most of us have more than enough clothes in our closets. Unfortunately, not all things were bought for the right reason, often leading to feelings of needing new things that do fit well or have the exact right color. Who are we fooling? Read Dead Fleurette’s posts and let her inspire you to make conscious decisions about what it really is that is lacking in your closet. And let’s start be happy again with what we have!

 

3 thoughts on “dead fleurette

  1. This is something I’ve spent the last week thinking about, glad I’m not the only one! I’m checking out her blog now!

  2. Thanks for this post, I love finding new blogs – and even though minimalism doesnt seem to be a think Im capable of managing, I do love to dream of it and be inspired by it

  3. I’m not a true minimalist yet myself, but I try to be. Every time I find myself wanting something I try to decipher where this wanting is coming from. Most of the time the feeling doesn’t last more than a few hours. If it does, and I allow myself to buy that thing, the satisfaction is so much bigger and lasts for a really long time. I think that is something we all can do, you don’t have to be a minimalist for that..

Leave a Reply

